Lingo

4 Oct

spanish-classes-blurb

God, I love being in Spain again. I love how it is comfortable and familiar yet still somehow alien. I love the food and, oh, I love the wine! The climate now is damn near perfect even with the odd thunderstorm thrown in and we have air con for when it sizzles a little too much for comfort.

Yet it doesn’t take much to make that alien feeling dominant and that is largely down to the language barrier. With that in mind I figured it was time to do something about it with some Spanish lessons. I did a beginner’s class about ten years ago and anything else has been via the internet or books and CDs. In other words I’m pretty useless especially with being away for so long. It’s taken me a fortnight to remember to say “Gracias” rather than the Greek “Efharisto” for a start.

Of course, I’ve planned to do something about it before but it’s always fizzled out. This time I’ve joined a second year class although I’m actually somewhere between year one and two resulting in excruciating embarrassment. I know I can read better than speak the language but the real killer is when someone speaks Spanish to me, however slowly. Even when they’re only saying what I would expect them to say if I thought about it, I just can’t seem to hear it. Something in me panics. I’m breaking out into a sweat now just at the thought.

When Neil is around he can usually work it out much better than me and he remembers the vocabulary. When I speak I struggle to find even the most basic words unless I’ve prepared it beforehand. My accent is apparently pretty good so between us we can usually get by. And there’s the rub. Why do I want to put myself through lessons? Hmm.
 

7 Responses to “Lingo”

  1. chitchatandpics October 4, 2016 at 4:39 pm #

    Oh i feel your pain, I go into panic mode so quickly when I am in a class situation. I know I’m not that bad at speaking but I think it’s the ‘all eyes on me’ that makes me panic. I know I’ll get there one day

    • lamputts October 4, 2016 at 6:08 pm #

      Yes, that’s it. I’m going to try to just slow down when I’m speaking in class. I don’t know what to do about the listening, though 😦

  2. malongoman October 4, 2016 at 8:24 pm #

    You’ve got to make it fun….. ¡Buen suerte!

    • lamputts October 4, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

      Fun it most definitely isn’t 😣

  3. millieweb2 October 5, 2016 at 9:12 am #

    Lol! Practice makes perfect or so I’ve been told!

    • lamputts October 5, 2016 at 11:09 am #

      I really admire anyone who has a good grasp of a second language let alone those who can speak half a dozen! I know one guy who is fluent in Spanish but has never had a lesson “just picked it up”. But at least I’m trying, I suppose :-/

      • millieweb2 October 5, 2016 at 10:54 pm #

        I do know and I feel your pain. French lessons at school were exactly the same. I could read very well, I could speak if I had to, but I could not understand when spoken to! I’m sure if I’d persevered, I could have got there in the end. But sadly, did not. Too embarrassed and too young. Wish I could go back 😦

Leave a Reply

