Packing

16 Jun

image

Neil’s exit from Abu Dhabi was achieved in end with a day to spare. Distracted only by hospital visits, the odd birthday and occasional episodes of Game of Thrones, packing and it’s required shopping is well underway. It feels like everything is starting to come together but it’s not an easy process, though.
Equipping a boat long distance is something of a challenge, particularly when limited by the weight restrictions of a budget airline. We’ve had to buy extra capacity to even begin to make it possible. There’s no way, however, that all the “stuff” we took off our old boat is going to make it on to Desert Dream. So what to take?
Really we’ve had to turn that question around and think in terms of what we’ll be able to buy in Levkas. We’re not talking major metropolis here. Seren Mor was fitted out in the UK mostly, with bits and pieces added throughout her journey around Europe. We’ll have to find everything in Greece this time around and that would have been tricky even before the ravages of austerity.
As well as the weight limit, everything we take has to fit into three large holdalls that are going to be thrown around by baggage handlers. So: nothing heavy, nothing bulky, nothing breakable. Obviously that rules out the slow cooker. Is this something we’re going to be able to get there? This is a vital piece of kit if you don’t want to live on salads and dips. Cooking down in the galley during a Greek summer, with no air con don’t forget, is no picnic. Realistically the oven is out and there’s no grill. It’s surprising what you can cook on just a couple of gas burners but being able to prepare a meal in the cockpit and just leave it to stew in a crock pot that isn’t belting out loads of extra heat makes the cook’s job a whole lot more pleasant.
Neil, of course, isn’t fretting about things like this. He’s packing oil filters and spanners. You know, the boring stuff. I’m thinking wine bottle stoppers and wondering if I can fit a feather pillow in.
Clothes can be pretty much whittled down to swimwear, t-shirts and shorts, shoes down to flip flops or crocs. Well, I’ll need sandals for the evening and a more substantial pair for walks if the the heat permits. Toiletries should be OK to buy once there. Except, that is, for my favourite brands. Oh and they only ever seem to have yucky roll on deodorant.
One thing I’ve decided to leave behind is my hair dryer and, drum roll, my hair straighteners. Yes, you heard right. I’m going au natural. Gulp.

7 Responses to “Packing”

  1. millieweb2 June 16, 2016 at 11:38 pm #

    Oooh no! Not even a teeny tiny hairdryer?? I’ve got a little folding one and I don’t go away without it! But och, you’ll be fine!

    • lamputts June 17, 2016 at 5:56 am #

      Thanks, Millie. My hair will dry quickly enough but it will frizz out horribly 😥 Do you remember the children’s cartoon Cristal Tipps and Alistair? That’ll be me!

      • GeorgieMoon June 17, 2016 at 7:16 am #

        Hahaha! My avatar for Facebook used to be of Crystal Tipps! I feel,your pain!

  2. GeorgieMoon June 17, 2016 at 7:21 am #

    Don’t worry. Lefkas is not suffering. All the shops are fully functioning. You can even buy spray deodorant! You can certainly buy a slow cooker. I have one on board but never use it, as we don’t plug into 240v. The other night I cooked a spagetti bolognese then used the left over mince to make a shepherds pie! I do lots of real cooking on board, but need the galley fan on though. I haven’t used a hairdryer or straighteners for five years. Or hair colour. Or make up! I think to myself, at least I’m not going to bump into anyone I know out here, and people I do meet, will think I always look like this!

    • lamputts June 17, 2016 at 8:20 am #

      Oh, Georgie, you have no idea how reassuring your comment is! Thanks for letting me know.

      • GeorgieMoon June 17, 2016 at 3:50 pm #

        That’s no problem! We will be sailing to Lefkas next week, been there many times. Let me know if there’s anything special you want me to look out for. We have to buy a new sink tap for the galley, among other things……

      • lamputts June 17, 2016 at 4:02 pm #

        Thanks, Georgie. We fly out ourselves in a couple of days and have no real idea exactly what we’ll need until we’ve spent some time getting to know the boat. Looking forward to the process, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

