Leaving

5 May

image

I hate goodbyes. There are so many with our rather itinerate life. Everything is “ this is the last time” I’ll do this or that, whether it’s a favourite walk, a coffee morning, a quiz night or a beach excursion. You can’t help it.
And you know that the life you are leaving will go on without you. Events are organised, friends make arrangements to meet up and you’re no longer part of it.
You hug those you’ve come to care about as tears fill traitorous eyes, not knowing when, or even if, you will ever see them again.
Don’t get me wrong. We have so much to look forward to. But leaving is never easy.

6 Responses to “Leaving”

  1. GeorgieMoon May 5, 2016 at 8:23 pm #

    Oh my goodness! This is exactly the post I’m planning to write in three weeks’ time! As you say, it’s very hard saying goodbye all the time when you are a boat gypsy…..

  2. chitchatandpics May 5, 2016 at 8:23 pm #

    Good luck in your next adventure

  3. vinneve May 6, 2016 at 4:32 pm #

    Yes it is. Up to now I am still missing my home so far away from here… and now one of my new found friends will leave us soon after we go for a holiday! Sad when we come back she’s not here anymore to welcome me. 😦

    • lamputts May 6, 2016 at 4:47 pm #

      It a very transient community in Abu Dhabi. I think most people leave after a couple of years. It makes it very hard to keep making friends and having to say goodbye to them.

Leave a Reply

