Well, I Didn’t Expect That

10 Mar

image
Photo by @samiralsaleh

I started my last post extolling the virtues of March in Abu Dhabi and, not unreasonably, thought the weather was a pretty safe bet. So it came as something of a surprise to see the comments and pictures friends were sharing on social media yesterday.
First it was talk of rain, then thunderstorms. I laughed on reading they’d closed the schools for two days. For a bit of rain? Someone shared a picture of hail stones. Hail in the desert?

image

Then the videos started to come out. OK, now I get it!

Photo of hailstones from unknown photographer

5 Responses to “Well, I Didn’t Expect That”

  1. vinneve March 10, 2016 at 9:09 am #

    Unbelievable isn’t it? never thought it will happen too. Good thing we are a bit away from AD City corniche so a bit safer than seeing the storm near the sea.

  2. vinneve March 10, 2016 at 9:12 am #

    Oh I forgot to add… your photo is very appropriate taking it on the ground reflecting The Gate towers.

    • lamputts March 10, 2016 at 1:59 pm #

      Thanks Vinneve. However none of the photographs are mine. Sorry, I forgot to add credits (it was very early when I posted). I’ve now added more photos and credited where possible. The picture you mention really is good, isn’t it?

      • vinneve March 11, 2016 at 10:45 am #

        I guess you’re from Abu Dhabi City? We can meet sometime if you’re keen ūüôā

      • lamputts March 11, 2016 at 12:37 pm #

        Will be away for a while, Vinneve – currently in Spain!

Leave a Reply

