Questions and Answers

16 Sep

image

One of the bloggers whose writing I enjoy is Wendy of chitchatandpics which I follow for her take on life as an expat in rural France. As you can imagine, I was enormously flattered when she included me in a recent post where she nominated me to answer a series of questions. Unfortunately the idea is linked to a chain letter which is basically advertising, something I’ve made a point of not doing in this blog. But I just love the idea of bloggers recognising each other and asking about what makes us tick, so initially it was a bit of a dilemma.
Probably unsurprisingly, I’ve decided to answer the questions so I can talk about myself – how could I resist and, after all, what else is blogging? – but I’m going to break the chain. Naturally, I’ve rambled on a bit so I’ve split the post into bite size pieces to make them more digestible! Thanks again for this opportunity, Wendy.

What inspired you to write a blog?

In 2009 we bought a boat with the intention of sailing her to the Mediterranean. It was a huge adventure for us, leaving family, friends and work behind and heading off into what seemed like the unknown. To prepare myself as much possible I’d been reading everything I could find by other people who had done the same thing and came across all these personal blogs. It seemed like a great idea to me to keep what I hoped would be a permanent record in both words and pictures of this once in a lifetime experience. Many people at home were asking us to let them know how we were getting on so blogging seemed the perfect way to do that, too.
We were taking our time to get there, often only travelling a few miles a day and understandably many of the people who the blog was originally intended for lost interest, perhaps only dipping into the entries from time to time. What I hadn’t expected, though, were the complete strangers who started avidly following our every move! Those planning or just dreaming of doing the same thing seemed to be the main readers, some of whom we met along the way and the blog became a way of keeping in touch. The blog became my diary and so, when we sold the boat, it seemed natural to carry on as we struggled with the change and tried to work out how our lives were going to be lived. We’re still trying.
When our son told us of a (totally non-boaty) friend of his who had read the entire sailing blog from start to finish in one night – not an easy thing to do with the rather clunky format I’d chosen use – I knew I wasn’t going to stop.

Twitter or Facebook? And why?

Twitter. It’s all about the people you follow, people who inspire you, those who suggest articles to read or music to listen to, those with similar interests or who just make you laugh. Most of all it’s about conversation with real people but who you’ll probably never meet. The downside is that it can be easy to offend with the limited characters allowed, making expressing your point of view more dogmatic than intended. I avoided Facebook but eventually succumbed in a very limited fashion with family and close friends.

Which season do you prefer?

This is an easy one. Spring. From the first snowdrops and daffodils to the leafy buds of trees opening in that beautiful, lush shade of green, it fills me with a sense of pure joy at all the newborn freshness. Spring is the promise of sunshine and warmth to come.

Earliest childhood memory

I have rather vague memories of walking along a hospital corridor with my mother which I always think of as my earliest memory and also of my Grandfather asleep in the lounge and having to be quiet as I walked through so as not to wake him. More distinct is telling all the neighbours “It’s my birthday. I’m four, I am!” 

What makes you laugh, really laugh?

As adults we don’t laugh anywhere near enough and it is rare for me to laugh out loud for more than a quick guffaw, usually at something on the telly. The times I find myself really laughing are usually at comments and anecdotes from friends. Some people just seem to have a talent for recounting quite simple day to day events in the most hilarious of ways. My father was one of them.

When was the last time you laughed like that?

I’m not sure if it was the last time but I do remember a friend having the whole table doubled up with her telling of the one and only time that, as a non-swimmer, she went down a waterslide. Tears were literally running down my face.

image

4 Responses to “Questions and Answers”

  1. Tony Prior September 16, 2015 at 5:50 pm #

    Hi Cathy, Tony, Neil’s friend from Jordan. Just to say I have read and loved every word you have wrote since 2009.. Keep it going. Hello to Neil

    • lamputts September 17, 2015 at 7:05 am #

      Very kind of you to say that, Tony. Yes, I remember you commenting on the earlier blog and really appreciate your support. Neil often mentions his time in Jordan and the friends he made there. I’ll let him know you said hello.

  2. chitchatandpics September 18, 2015 at 1:39 pm #

    Lovely and like you I had the same dilemma about continuing the ‘chain’. It really is a personal thing but thank you for blogging & doing the Q&A it was great to hear a little bit more about you. Xx

    • lamputts September 19, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      Thank you again for nominating me. I must put my mind to the other questions!

Leave a Reply

