Memory Lapse

28 Aug

image

Where has the summer gone? Of course, it’s not officially over yet but it barely feels like it started, in North Wales at least. This weekend is supposed to be the highlight, the grand finale, as it were, being August Bank Holiday. The sun is actually shining as I write this.
Stupidly, I forgot all about the break when I arranged to visit Mum in the Midlands today and naturally the roads are hellish as everyone who can heads for the coast, most of them coming here, it seems. Driving bumper to bumper for miles on end, I vowed not to go anywhere other than on foot until Tuesday. Just as well, really.
Somewhere between Nantwich and Chester it came to me in a blinding flash. Wasn’t I supposed to put the car in for it’s MOT this month? Three O’Clock on the Friday afternoon before a Bank Holiday weekend is not a good time to remember that the car will be illegal to drive after midnight.
Fortunately – well, that’s one way of looking at it – I have become a regular at my local garage of late and, well, they’re just really nice guys. They’ve said they’ll fit me in on Tuesday afternoon. Pleading my sick mother’s 80th birthday next week and sobbing down the phone might have helped. Now all that has to happen is for the car to pass…

One Response to “Memory Lapse”

  1. chitchatandpics August 29, 2015 at 7:43 pm #

    Fingers crossed for Tuesday and have a lovely weekend xx

Leave a Reply

