Bad Back

13 Mar

image

I’ve always said exercise was bad for you. I’ve never been a big fan. Traipsing up hills was always about my limit and then usually accompanied by constant moaning. And don’t even get me started on jogging. Swimming is supposed to be ideal and is Neil’s current exercise of choice but I’ve never been keen. Water is not mankind’s natural element. If you don’t believe me try inhaling it, something I seem to do whenever I’m out of my depth or there’s some git charging along regardless of anyone else. And, most importantly, my hair suffers.

Since we’ve been in Abu Dhabi, though, I’ve succumbed to the gym. As you might expect, I don’t over do it. 20 minutes walking on a treadmill combined with some light weight work for my arms is enough and I keep right away from personal trainers pushing clients to do more. Nevertheless, I’ve managed to inflict severe pain on myself. I can hardly walk. I’m swallowing painkillers like Jelly Tots and getting into positions a contortionist would admire trying to make myself comfortable.

So instead of sitting by the marina in the afternoon sun and sipping prosecco I’m housebound. Instead of writing about today’s planned Desert Safari I’m blogging about my bad back. And Neil is having to do the shopping – you know how much he loves that.

2 Responses to “Bad Back”

  1. Roger March 13, 2015 at 2:02 pm #

    Much sympathy: been there (bad back that is) All it takes for me though is to sleep in the wrong position and I wake up unable to either bend or straighten up. My main (only!) exercise is walking and I occasionally do five or six miles like an ambulatory hairpin.

    Trust you’ll be better soon.
    R

    • lamputts March 13, 2015 at 2:32 pm #

      Thanks, Roger. Really hoping it settles down soon. Think I’ll be staying away from the gym, too.

Leave a Reply

