Some Progress

13 Jun

Image

Things seem to be progressing in Abu Dhabi. Neil still doesn’t have his visa so despite numerous meetings he hasn’t been able to start working properly yet. In the meantime he has been hunting for an apartment for us, between dodging the Etihad stewardesses in micro bikinis at the hotel pool, of course.

It looks like he’s found one which will suit us both (apartment that is not stewardess. Or micro-bikini, come to that) and has put a deposit down until all the paperwork is sorted. How long will that take? Anyone’s guess, really. There’s no point me going out there yet. Despite the micro-bikini-clad beauties, hotel living doesn’t actually sound much fun and the heat and humidity are very limiting.

 Image

I’m all ready to go, though: Clothes are sorted and ready to be packed, toiletries set aside in a bag, shoes bought and in another bag. I say that, but when it comes down to it I’m sure I’ll still be in a flap and missing something vital. So the living in limbo continues. Mainly, I watch the grass grow. Literally. Every morning I check on the progress of the grass seed I sprinkled on the lawn. Now I’ve thrown a few flower seeds on a bare patch of soil, too late in the season really but they were cheap. So I have to keep an eye out for them too. Sad or what?

Image

 

4 Responses to “Some Progress”

  1. Lau June 15, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

    I was worried about forgetting something vital too… but the truth is that here shopping is really easy (a little bit *too* easy, according to my wallet!) and you can find everything you need. 🙂

    • lamputts June 16, 2014 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks Lau. Your blog has been very reassuring, too.

      • Lau June 16, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

        Glad to hear it! If you have any questions, do not hesitate to drop me a line 🙂

      • lamputts June 16, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

        Thanks, Lau x

Leave a Reply

