Gone Sailing

12 May

Image

I don’t think a canal boat for a week quite hit the spot for Neil. The whistle in the rigging was calling to the sailor inside. So when he got the opportunity of a few days on the Irish Sea he jumped at the chance. Did I want to go, too? Not for a second.

Anyone who has read the forerunner to this blog will know that I have never considered myself a “real” sailor. To say I am a fair-weather sailor is to understate the situation. Even if PassageWeather is forecasting light winds and the Daily Express says that summer should arrive this week (that must be right, then) I’m not tempted. It has taken me the last 18 months on dry land not to cringe when I hear the crescendo of an escalating strong gust.

Don’t get me wrong, I could definitely be tempted by another stint in the Greek Islands. I could even contemplate, without running for the hills, the possibility of buying a boat in, say, Spain and sailing her to Greece again at a leisurely pace. But seafaring in British waters in May? Please! Are you out of your mind? I was wearing every layer I could get my hands on last week and that was just on the inland waterways!

So, with the windscreen wipers on full speed, I dropped Neil off at the station to catch a train to Southport. Bon Voyage, darling. I’ll keep the house warm for you.

Image

This picture by Leroy Neiman really captures.., well, why I’d rather stay home. 

 

 

2 Responses to “Gone Sailing”

  1. Leenjoan May 12, 2014 at 3:21 pm #

    Ditto

    • lamputts May 12, 2014 at 3:34 pm #

      Hi you two! “ditto” as in you’ve gone sailing or you’re keeping the house warm? Hope the winter months have been kind to you.

Leave a Reply

