On My Own

14 Jan

Image 

Neil has had to go back to the UK for a few days and, dammit, I miss him. I thought I’d get lots of lie-ins (Neil is an early riser) but so far it hasn’t worked out that way. I guess you just get into the swing of each other’s rhythms. So I get to watch the sun rise through the kitchen window.

Image

The apartment hasn’t been as clean since we moved in. I like the fact that it’s tidy but there’s something quite disconcerting about a place that is exactly how you left it the day before. And it’s quiet. No wall-to-wall news coverage. No clattering of a dishwasher being unloaded at 6 in the morning. Mind you, the neighbours upstairs are doing their best to rectify the silence.

 I also thought it would be an opportunity to make the meals that I like (we have very different tastes which can limit a menu). But I keep putting out two plates ready to serve up. Looking at my supermarket shop it just yells “ON MY OWN”. And everything comes in portions big enough for two.

 Image

Don’t get me wrong, I’m keeping myself occupied and there is a certain sense of liberty that comes with doing what you want, when you want, without having to take someone else into consideration. But I’ll be glad when he gets back. Don’t tell him, though. 

 

 

3 Responses to “On My Own”

  1. Neil January 16, 2014 at 8:19 am #

    Will see you soon x

  2. vinneve March 28, 2017 at 10:22 am #

    I don’t feel like eating a good meal too when I am alone. It is better shared to have a good appetite.

Leave a Reply

